Skip to Main Content

Advanced Search

Customer Connect Login | Payer Login | Surveyor Login

CARF Canada | CARF Europe | uSPEQ®

News releases

Read current and past CARF news releases.

CARF Board of Directors reelects Herb Zaretsky, Ph.D., for third term as Board Chair

Three Board members up for reelection also retained

December 29, 2016, Tucson, Arizona— The CARF Board of Directors has elected Herb Zaretsky, Ph.D., to serve a third consecutive term as Board Chair. His third one-year term begins January 1, 2017. Dr. Zaretsky is currently Clinical Professor at the New York University School of Medicine, and at the Rusk Institute of Rehabilitation Medicine, New York University Langone Medical Center.

Dr. Zaretsky’s reelection maintains his longstanding relationship with CARF, which spans more than two decades. He previously served as Chair of what was then the CARF Board of Trustees in 2003 and has been involved in the governance of CARF since he joined the Board in 1998 as a sponsoring trustee. He served on the Board for seven years as a representative for the American Psychological Association until his election to the first CARF Board of Directors in 2005.

“I am grateful to my colleagues on the Board for their support and confidence, and for the privilege of serving CARF in this important role,” says Dr. Zaretsky. I look forward to continuing to advance CARF’s mission of providing quality services to persons served, and to supporting CARF’s national and international growth by utilizing CARF’s exemplary standards in the accreditation process.”

Dr. Zaretsky also continues to serve on the Board of Directors of the Eastern Division (New York State and New Jersey) of the American Cancer Society®, where he previously served as Board President. Dr. Zaretsky is the author of more than 100 publications, including several book chapters, and an editor of five books on the medical aspects of disability.

The CARF Board of Directors also elected to retain the seats of Kayda Johnson, Marvin Mashner, and Bob Short for additional three-year terms running January 1, 2017, through December 31, 2019. CARF President and CEO, Brian J. Boon, Ph.D., commenting on the reelections, said, “CARF continues to benefit from the governance of a highly competent, stable, and enriched Board of Directors.”

Serving in diverse health and human service fields, the 10 members of the CARF Board of Directors bring unique and valuable experience to their governance roles. The Board roster for 2017 is:

  • Herb Zaretsky, Ph.D., New York City, New York (Board Chair)
  • Susanne M. Bruyère, Ph.D., CRC, Ithaca, New York
  • Thomas J. Buckley, Ed.D., Hollywood, Florida
  • Donald J. Dew, M.S.W., ACSW, Chicago, Illinois
  • Richard Forkosh, Manchester, Missouri
  • Kayda Johnson, Solana Beach, California
  • Marvin Mashner, Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
  • Paul Nathenson, RN, ND, Lincoln, Nebraska
  • Sharon Osborne, Seattle, Washington
  • Robert H. Short, Salt Lake City, Utah

12/29/2016 11:45:00 AM

Legal notices  Careers  Contact Us

Text: A A A