Skip to Main Content

Advanced Search

Customer Connect Login | Payer Login | Surveyor Login

CARF Canada | CARF Europe | uSPEQ®

News releases

Read current and past CARF news releases.

CARF Directors elect Herb Zaretsky as new Board Chair

December 18, 2014, Tucson, Arizona—The CARF Board of Directors elected Herb Zaretsky, Ph.D., as Chair of the Board during its December 2014 meeting beginning January 1, 2015. He was also voted to a new three-year term as Board member. Dr. Zaretsky is currently a Clinical Professor at The Rusk Institute of Rehabilitation Medicine, New York University Langone Medical Center, and a longtime participant in CARF governance.

"I am thankful to my colleagues on the Board for their support and confidence," said Zaretsky of the Board's action. "I am looking forward to advancing CARF's mission of providing quality services to persons served, and to supporting CARF's international growth. We have the opportunity to help other countries advance quality services, and by so doing, make CARF's exemplary standards even stronger."

Dr. Zaretsky succeeds Kayda Johnson who was elected Chair of the CARF Board of Directors for three consecutive one-year terms beginning in 2012. “I would also like to acknowledge Kayda Johnson for her outstanding leadership as Board Chair," said Zaretsky. Johnson will remain on the Board as Past Chair through the end of her current three-year term, which will be completed on December 31, 2016.

CARF President and CEO, Brian J. Boon, Ph.D., said, "CARF is very fortunate to have had a supportive board over the past several years. I am looking forward to working with Dr. Zaretsky and the other board members as they continue to lead our efforts domestically and internationally as the accreditor of choice."

Dr. Zaretsky has more than two decades of experience with CARF medical rehabilitation surveys stemming from his tenure at The Rusk Institute in New York. He previously served as Chair of what was then the CARF Board of Trustees in 2003 and has been involved in the governance of CARF since he joined the Board in 1998 as a sponsoring trustee. He served on the Board for seven years as a representative for the American Psychological Association until his election to the first CARF Board of Directors in 2005. Possessing a sound governance and academic background in the medical community, Dr. Zaretsky also continues to serve on the Board of Directors of the Eastern Division (New York State and New Jersey) of the American Cancer Society, where he previously also served as Board President. Dr. Zaretsky is the author of over 100 publications, including several book chapters, and editor of four books on medical aspects of disability.

The CARF Board of Directors also elected to retain the seats of Susanne Bruyère and Karen Chastain for additional three-year terms running January 1, 2015, through December 31, 2017. Serving in diverse health and human service fields, the eleven members of the CARF Board of Directors bring unique and valuable experience to their governance roles. The board roster for 2015 is:

  • Herb Zaretsky, Ph.D., New York City, New York (Board Chair)
  • Susanne M. Bruyère, Ph.D., CRC, Ithaca, New York
  • Thomas J. Buckley, Ed.D., Hollywood, Florida
  • Karen Chastain, Fort Lauderdale, Florida
  • Richard Forkosh, Manchester, Missouri
  • Kayda Johnson, Solana Beach, California
  • Marvin Mashner, Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
  • Paul Nathenson, RN, ND, Lincoln, Nebraska
  • Sharon Osborne, Seattle, Washington
  • Robert H. Short, Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Sherry Wheelock, Clermont, Florida

12/18/2014 11:05:00 AM

Legal notices  Careers  Contact Us

Text: A A A