Skip to Main Content

Advanced Search

Customer Connect Login | Payer Login | Surveyor Login

CARF Canada | CARF Europe | uSPEQ®

News releases

Read current and past CARF news releases.

CARF Board of Directors reelects Herb Zaretsky, Ph.D., as Board Chair

Five Board members up for reelection also retained

December 21, 2015, Tucson, Arizona— At its December meeting in Tucson, Arizona, the CARF Board of Directors elected Herb Zaretsky, Ph.D., to serve a consecutive term as Board Chair. His second one-year term begins January 1, 2016. “It is an honor and privilege to serve as Board Chair, particularly in 2016 when CARF celebrates its 50th anniversary as a model accrediting organization that has worked to enhance the lives of persons served through its quality standards for accredited service providers,” said Dr. Zaretsky after being reelected.

Dr. Zaretsky is a longtime advocate of CARF and has more than two decades of experience with CARF medical rehabilitation surveys. He previously served as Chair of what was then the CARF Board of Trustees in 2003 and has been involved in the governance of CARF since he joined the Board in 1998 as a sponsoring trustee. He served on the Board for seven years as a representative for the American Psychological Association until his election to the first CARF Board of Directors in 2005.

Dr. Zaretsky also continues to serve on the Board of Directors of the Eastern Division (New York State and New Jersey) of the American Cancer Society®, where he previously served as Board President. He is currently a Clinical Professor at the Rusk Institute of Rehabilitation Medicine, New York University Langone Medical Center. Dr. Zaretsky is the author of over 100 publications, including several book chapters, and an editor of five books on the medical aspects of disability.

Thomas J. Buckley, Richard Forkosh, Paul Nathenson, Sharon Osborne, and Sherry Wheelock reelected to Board terms

The CARF Board of Directors also elected to retain the seats of Thomas J. Buckley, Richard Forkosh, Paul Nathenson, Sharon Osborne, and Sherry Wheelock for additional three-year terms running January 1, 2016, through December 31, 2018. “CARF continues to be fortunate to have the leadership of a stable Board,” said CARF President and CEO, Brian J. Boon, Ph.D. “They provide unwavering support in our mission to enhance the lives of persons served worldwide.”

Serving in diverse health and human service fields, the eleven members of the CARF Board of Directors bring unique and valuable experience to their governance roles. The Board roster for 2016 is:

  • Herb Zaretsky, Ph.D., New York City, New York (Board Chair)
  • Susanne M. Bruyère, Ph.D., CRC, Ithaca, New York
  • Thomas J. Buckley, Ed.D., Hollywood, Florida
  • Donald J. Dew, M.S.W., ACSW, Chicago, Illinois
  • Richard Forkosh, Manchester, Missouri
  • Kayda Johnson, Solana Beach, California
  • Marvin Mashner, Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
  • Paul Nathenson, RN, ND, Lincoln, Nebraska
  • Sharon Osborne, Seattle, Washington
  • Robert H. Short, Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Sherry Wheelock, Clermont, Florida

12/21/2015 12:15:00 PM

Legal notices  Careers  Contact Us

Text: A A A